Hong Kong PR body elects Robert Grieves as chair: ‘Health of the industry better than ever’

Robert Grieves


Hong Kong’s industry body for the public relations sector has elected a new chairman.

Robert Grieves, who runs Hamilton Advisors, takes over the chairmanship of the Council of Public Relations Firms of Hong Kong from Simeon Mellalieu, who becomes deputy chairman after a four-year stint at the helm.

“The health of the industry in Hong Kong is better than ever,” said Grieves in a press statemate. “There is more innovation taking place among practitioners and a better appreciation of PR among clients who do business in this dynamic market. PR continues to evolve here as Hong Kong changes.”

“As social media continues to redefine how people consume information across Asia, PR practitioners in Hong Kong face unique challenges and opportunities. Acting as the industry’s advocate, the Council supports consultancies in their quest to uphold best practice, foster talent, and deliver greater value for their clients,” he said.

The following were elected to the 2015 Council Board of Directors:

  • Chairman: Robert Grieves, Hamilton Advisors
  • Deputy Chairman: Simeon Mellalieu, Ketchum Hong Kong
  • Hon. Secretary: Rachel Catanach, FleishmanHillard
  • Hon. Treasurer: Vicky Neil, Racepoint Global
  • Accreditation Chair: David Ashton, Brunswick Group
  • External Relations Co-Chairs: Joel Laykin Laykin Communications, Kiri Sinclair Sinclair Communications
  • Issues Chair: Rachel Catanach, FleishmanHillard
  • Committee: Amanda Do, Text 100
  • Membership Chair Mandy Queen CRED Communications
  • PR/Marketing Chair Mei Ying Leong Text 100
  • Committee: Denise Chan Text 100, Jessie Gogan GHC Asia
  • Digital/Marketing Chair: Nicola Oldfield, GHC Asia
  • Committee: Kristy Heung, Hamilton Advisors, Karen Wong GHC Asia
  • Programmes Chair Lauren Zervos, Racepoint Global
  • Committee: Sara Cheung Text 100
  • Training Chair: Geoff Bilbrough, FleishmanHillard
  • Committee: Colby Jones, Text 100
  • Benchmarking Survey Chair: Committee: Colby Jones Text 100
  • Board Director Antoine Calendrier Burson-Marsteller
  • Board Director David Croasdale Newell Public Relations
  • Board Director Kevin Lam Sinclair Communications
  • Board Director Jane Morgan Edelman
  • Board Director Felix Poon VIS Communciations
  • Board Director KW Lam Hill+Knowlton
  • Board Director Arne Eggers Karla Otto
  • Board Director Bastian Wong FLARE Communications
  • Board Director Jin Ling APCO Worldwide
  • Board Director Alastair Hetherington Finsbury
  • Board Director: Clara Shek Ogilvy PR
  • Board Director: Howard Jones Ogilvy PR
  • Board Director: Reyna Harilela, Bonvivant & Bellavita Ltd
  • Board Director: Shirley Hiranand, Bonvivant & Bellavita Ltd
  • Young PR Prof’s Rep: Sasha Alwani Burson-Marsteller

The CPRFHK plans to stage more topical events, such as “Are Hong Kong companies prepared for a crisis?” which was held during the Occupy Central pro-democracy protests last year, a Young Professionals Competition and a industry benchmark study.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella Asia newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing