Ad Stars unveils full judging line up

Ad Stars logoAd Stars has announced its full judging line up for the awards show to take place in Busan, Korea next month.

The announcement:

AD STARS is delighted to unveil its full line-up of jurors, who will spend one week in Busan, South Korea selecting the winners of AD STARS 2016, which runs from 25th to 27th August.

This year’s Executive Jury panel includes:

• ManoloTechera, Creative Chairman, Marcel Worldwide, Mexico

• Tim Doherty, Chief Creative Officer, Isobar China, Shanghai

• Leigh Reyes, President and Chief Creative Officer, MullenLowe Philippines

• Ali Shabaz, Chief Creative Officer, Grey Group Southeast Asia, Singapore

• Jeremy Craigen, Global Chief Creative Officer, Innocean Worldwide, London

Leigh Reyes is President and Chief Creative Officer of MullenLowe Philippines, and entered the Creative Guild Hall of Fame in 2015. Winner of the country’s first gold Clio, she has been awarded at Cannes, D&AD, One Show, Clio, Spikes, ADFEST, LIA, NYF, Art Directors’ Club, DMA, and others.

“I’m looking forward to my first trip to Busan to join the AD STARS Executive Jury. It is a festival that seems to be so passionate about the power of creative thinking, and the impact our industry can have on creating ideas that contribute to real and positive change. I’m curious to see the work that wins this year,” says Reyes.

As Creative Chairman of Marcel Worldwide, based in Mexico, Manolo Techera is a member of Publicis Communications Creative Board and a member of Marcel’s global creative board. After 12 years at JWT, he joined Marcel in 2012, an agency that set out to break the boundaries of traditional communication.

Tim Doherty has worked for Isobar in Shanghai for eight years and stepped into the role as Isobar China’s Chief Creative Officer in 2014, where he is responsible for driving the creative vision and offering for clients in China.

He says: “AD STARS is one of the best festivals in the world. It’s a big honor to join the Executive Jury. With the creative landscape evolving so quickly in Asia, I’m very excited to travel to Busan to discover and celebrate all the great work that is leading our industry this year.”

Twenty-five ‘Final Jurors’ will join the Executive Jury at AD STARS. Together, they represent the following regions:

Eun Jung Ahn, Head of Next Campaign Team1, Innocean Worldwide
Youngmin Pipha Cho, Creative Director, Cheil Worldwide
Jay Paik, President, Diamond Ogilvy Group

Tim Doherty, Chief Creative Officer, Isobar (Executive Jury)
Polly Chu, Chief Creative Officer, JWT Beijing
Tom J.Z. Xiang, General Director, Zhejiang Hualin Advertising Co., Ltd.

Hong Kong
Joshua Tay, Regional Creative Director, Red Fuse Communications

Ajab Samrai, Chief Creative Officer, Ogilvy & Mather
Yoshihiro Yagi, Creative Director, Dentsu
Tomoki Harada, Senior Creative Director, TBWA Hakuhodo

Ali Shabaz, Southeast Asia Chief Creative Officer, Grey Group (Executive Jury)

Shi Ping Ong, Chief Creative Officer, FCB Kuala Lumpur

Anuwat Nitipanont, Executive Creative Director, BBDO Proximity, Bangkok

Murphy Chou, Chief Creative Officer, Leo Burnett Taiwan

The Philippines
Leigh Reyes, President and Chief Creative Officer,MullenLowe (Executive Jury)

Takeshi Takada, Executive Producer, Alt.vfx

New Zealand
Wayne Pick, Executive Creative Director, Colenso BBDO/Proximity.

United Kingdom
Jeremy Craigen, Global Chief Creative Officer, Innocean Worldwide (Executive Jury)
Roy Cohen, Creative Director, Blue Hive Ogilvy
Laurent Simon, Executive Creative Director, BBC Creative

Nestor Garcia, Executive Creative Director, LOLA MullenLowe, Barcelona

Gabor Spielmann, Creative Director, Kabooom

Andrey Gubaydullin, Executive Creative Director, Voskhod

South Africa
Graham Lang, Chief Creative Officer, South Africa & Africa, Y&R

Lisa Greenberg, SVP Creative Director, Head of Art, Leo Burnett Toronto

ManoloTechera, Creative Chairman, Marcel Worldwide (Executive Jury)

Myra Mazzei Nussbaum, SVP Global Creative Director, FCB
Andre Felix, Vice President & Creative Director, Y&R Miami

Carlos Camacho, Executive Creative Director, MullenLowe Vietnam

Daniel Ottoni, Associate Creative Director, R/GA

AD STARS has a tiered judging system, beginning with a global panel of 215 jurors who recently voted remotely on over 18,000 entries to determine this year’s finalists.

In August, our Executive Jury and Final Jury will fly to Busan to select Gold, Silver, Bronze and Grand Prix winners.

Winners will be announced at a gala awards ceremony on Saturday 27th August at Haeundae Grand Hotel in Busan, South Korea, concluding the 9th AD STARS festival.

Tickets to AD STARS can now be purchased via

Source: press release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella Asia newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing