Haze documentary among winners at Mediacorp’s 2016 journalism awards

Heart of the haze reportingSingapore media owner Mediacorp has announced the winners of its journalism awards, with reportage of last year’s heavy haze season claiming top honours in the documentary category.

International correspondent May Wong was named journalist of the year.

The announcement:

Singapore, 29 July 2016 – Mediacorp honoured some of the best journalistic works across its news platforms – on television, radio, print and online – at the 2016 Mediacorp News Awards Gala last night. Now in its tenth year, the Mediacorp News Awards celebrates excellence in journalism and commends journalists for constantly raising the bar of Mediacorp’s news reporting.

The annual awards event was held at the Conrad Centennial Singapore last night and was attended by about 150 people including 100 journalists, as well as newsmakers and judges.

Mr Shaun Seow, Chief Executive Officer of Mediacorp, said in his speech, “The Great Digital Disruption has lowered the barriers to entry to our business. Journalism as a trade is under siege.” He added that Mediacorp journalists have what it takes to overcome these challenges. They include “quality journalism that begets trust”, “investing time and resources so that audiences find us wherever they are”, and attributes like “intelligence, determination, an unwavering moral and ethical compass, a relentless drive to beat the competition, and perhaps most importantly the ability to work tirelessly.”

The Special Guest at the Gala was Ms Sun Xueling, Member of Parliament and Deputy Chairperson of the Government Parliamentary Committee for Communications and Information.

The winners in the five categories of work are:

1) Documentary/Special of the Year

Winners: 1) Get Real: Heart of the Haze (English Current Affairs)

2) Mr. Lee, One Year On (TODAY)

2) Feature Story of the Year

Winners: 1) Sabah Quake: Heart of Courage (English Current Affairs)

2) Undercover Asia 3: Kasur’s Lost Children (Programme Production & International Production)

3) News Story of the Year

Winners: 1) Nepal Quake: Singapore Gurkha confronts destruction at home village of Barpak (Digital News)

2) Channel NewsAsia Exclusive: Interview With President of the United States Barack Obama (English Current Affairs)

4) Young Journalist of the Year

Winner: Jackson Board, Senior Correspondent (Digital News)

5) Journalist of the Year

Winners: 1) May Wong, Correspondent (International News)

2) Leong Wai Kit, Senior Reporter (Singapore News)

The winners were picked from a field of some 30 nominees by a jury comprising Mr Douglas Foo, Chairman of Sakae Holdings Ltd, Ms Judy Hsu, Chief Executive Officer of Standard Chartered Bank, and Mr Richard Magnus, Chairman of the Public Transport Council.

Source: Mediacorp press release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella Asia newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing