Mumbrella reveals judges for Asia awards

Mumbrella Asia awardsMumbrella has revealed a list of the 40 judges for the inaugural Mumbrella Asia Awards.

Joining a panel led by jury chairman Andrew Knott, McDonald’s regional VP of media and digital, are a mixture of marketers, media owners, brand experts, recruiters, pitch doctors and consultants to find Asia’s bravest, most innovative and insightful communications.

The deadline for entries for the Mumbrella Asia Awards is the end of this week, Friday 20 March, with late entries accepted until 27 March. The criteria for entry are here.

Jury chairman Andrew Knott

Jury chairman Andrew Knott

The judges include Aaron Boekestein, the APAC agency business lead at Google, Facebook’s new APAC head of agency Neil Stewart, and the Asia boss of newly launched inhouse agency specialist OLIVER, Nick George.

Also on the panel are Zayn Khan, the former boss of FutureBrand APAC who now runs Southeast Asia for brand consultancy Dragon Rouge, Dave McCaughan, who has just called time on almost three decades with McCann, and Ian Thubron, the former China head of TBWA who has just started his own venture.

Client marketers on the jury of 40 include Ruth Rowan, the Asia CMO of BT and chair of The Marketing Society of Asia, Ella Bee of DFS Group, Coca-Cola’s Stephen Drummond, Wynthia Goh of SAP, Lenovo’s Rod Strother, Zalora Singapore’s Dione Song and Aniruddha Haldar of Indian motorbike giant TVS.

Here’s the list of 40 judges:

  • Chairman: Andrew Knott, VP, digital and media, Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa, McDonald’s
  • Aileen Yuan, head of corporate, institutional and commercial banking marketing, Standard Chartered Bank, China
  • Aaron Boekestein, agency business lead, APAC, Google
  • Ella Bee, vice president, global consumer marketing, DFS Group, Hong Kong
  • Rohit Dadwal, managing director, Asia, Mobile Marketing Association
  • Neil Stewart, head of agency, APAC, Facebook
  • Richard Cotton, content and creative excellence director, Coca-Cola, China
  • Zayn Khan, CEO, Southeast Asia, Dragon Rouge
  • Aniruddha Haldar, head of brand and marketing, TVS Motor Co
  • Marc Zeitlin, chief marketing officer, AIG, China
  • Jacqueline Cheong, senior director, marketing, APAC, IHS
  • Saugat Tripathy, regional marketing manager, Kimberly Clark
  • Dave McCaughan, former MD, McCann Worldgroup Hong Kong and APAC strategy director
  • Ruth Rowan, chief marketing officer, Asia, BT
  • Stephen Drummond, senior director; creative, iMarketing and design, Coca-Cola
  • Rod Strother, director, digital and social excellence centre, Lenovo
  • Wynthia Goh, Director of digital and social, Asia Pacific and Japan, SAP
  • Miranda Dimopoulos, executive director, Interactive Advertising Bureau of Southeast Asia
  • Richard Bleasedale, regional managing partner, Asia Pacific, Roth Observatory
  • Nick George, managing director, Asia, OLIVER
  • Shailendra Katyal, director, home and small business, Lenovo India
  • Mark Ingrouille, executive vice president, International Operations, Thoughtful Media
  • Vernon Vasu, former director, corporate marketing and communications, Health Promotion Board, Singapore
  • Ian Thubron, founder and chairman, AsiaStrategies
  • Emma Osbourne, managing director, Asia, AspireAsia
  • Robi Stanton, vice president, sales and marketing, Southeast Asia, Turner International Asia Pacific
  • Alvin Neo, chief marketing officer, Parkway Pantai, Singapore
  • Wendy Hogan, former chair, Interactive Advertising Bureau of Southeast Asia, Singapore chapter
  • Christel Quek, content lead, APAC, MENA, Greater China, Russia, Twitter
  • Michelle Froah, former Asia Pacific regional senior marketing director, Kimberly Clark
  • Stu Lloyd, training director, Hotheads Innovation Training
  • Anthony Hearne, regional director, Southeast Asia, India and new markets
  • Nick Fawbert, managing director, Asia, Brand New Media
  • Laura Gordon, head of sales, Asia Pacific, Commercialize TV
  • Yvonne Tey, marketing director, Asia Pacific, Hootsuite
  • Mark Bowling, senior consultant, TrinityP3
  • Chris Reed, managing director, Black Marketing
  • Greg Paull, principal and co-founder, R3
  • Dione Song, marketing director, Zalora Singapore

The list of categories for the awards, the winners of which are to be announced on 7 May in Singapore, are:

  • Mumbrella Asia Award for Bravery
  • Mumbrella Asia Award for Culture
  • Mumbrella Asia Award for Insight
  • Mumbrella Asia Award for Innovation
  • Mumbrella Asia Award for Data-driven Marketing
  • Marketing team of the year
  • Media sales team of the year
  • Media brand of the year
  • Marketing technology company of the year
  • Pro bono campaign of the year
  • Campaign of the year
  • Ad of the year
  • Content marketing strategy of the year
  • Most promising newcomer
  • Agency leader of the year
  • Southeast Asia
  • Creative agency of the year
  • Southeast Asia PR agency of the year
  • Southeast Asia Media agency of the year
  • Southeast Asia Specialist agency of the year
  • Southeast Asia Emerging agency of the year
  • South Asia
  • Creative agency of the year
  • South Asia PR agency of the year
  • South Asia Media agency of the year
  • South Asia Specialist agency of the year
  • South Asia Emerging agency of the year
  • Greater China
  • Creative agency of the year
  • Greater China PR agency of the year
  • Greater China Media agency of the year
  • Greater China Specialist agency of the year
  • Greater China Emerging agency of the year

In keeping the Mumbrella’s campaigning stance on the issue, the Mumbrella Asia Awards will have zero tolerance for entries which are suspected of being scam, work created purely to win awards.


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella Asia newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing