Eurosport lands TV rights for English Football League Cup in Malaysia and Brunei

Eurosport has landed the television rights for the English Football League Cup in Malaysia and Brunei for the 2016/2017 season. They will be broadcast on Astro’s platforms, including Astro on the Go.

The announcement:

Singapore, 24 October, 2016 – Eurosport, the leading pan-regional sports destination, today announces that it has secured exclusive rights for the EFL Cup 2016/17 in Malaysia and Brunei on Astro. The agreement includes the rights to the remaining 11 matches featuring a match-up between the qualifying teams.

Licensed from MP & Silva, the official rights holder and distributor in Asia, the EFL Cup will showcase a number of exciting ties on Eurosport. Airing from 26 October, Round Four will see Malaysia favourites and eight-time winners Liverpool drawn against Tottenham Hotspur ; Manchester United will host fierce rivals Manchester City at Old Trafford, while Chelsea travels to West Ham in the London derby.

Louis Boswell, General Manager of Southeast Asia, Discovery Networks Asia-Pacific, said, “We are thrilled to bring back the EFL Cup exclusively to Malaysian fans, a country with an undying passion for football. Enjoyed by millions of people around the world, today’s announcement guarantees Malaysian football fans the return of this world-class tournament. Together with Astro, the agreement further marks our continued investment in building our sports portfolio in Southeast Asia, where we present high quality sports and fuel the passion of fans across the region.”

The series will be broadcasted on Eurosport (Astro Channel 814), Astro SuperSport (Channel 831 HD /810) as well as Astro on the Go. The 2016/17 fixtures for the EFL Cup are as follows:

  • Round Four: 26-27 October 2016
  • Quarterfinal: 30 November-1 December 2016
  • Semifinal (First Leg): 11-12 January 2017
  • Semifinal (Second Leg): 25-26 January 2017
  • Final: 26 February 2017

Launched in 1960, the EFL Cup features 92 clubs from the EFL and Premier League in a straight knock-out format across seven rounds, with the semi-finals being played over two legs. Premier League clubs enter the competition in Round Two with clubs that have qualified for the Champions League or Europa League joining in Round Three. The competition culminates in a final at Wembley Stadium, with the winner qualifying for the subsequent season’s Europa League. More information on the history of the tournament can be found here.

Source: press release


Get the latest media and marketing industry news (and views) direct to your inbox.

Sign up to the free Mumbrella Asia newsletter now.



Sign up to our free daily update to get the latest in media and marketing